Scholarship Winner – Sabrina Lem

scholarship winner


Each year, ae ProNet proudly awards the AIA David Lakamp Scholarship to a worthy up and coming architect.

a/e ProNet AIA David W. Lakamp Scholarship

(American Institute of Architects Scholarship)

This scholarship was initiated in 1990 and renamed in 1999 for David W. Lakamp. Mr. Lakamp was a founder of a/e ProNet and a trusted advisor to the profession. He left behind a legacy of professionalism and integrity that set new standards in the field of insurance services. The annual awards are given to the two students who best demonstrate strong interest in practice management.

Award: $5,000 each
Eligibility: The scholarship is open to fourth-year undergraduates, and graduate students of architecture enrolled in an NAAB-accredited professional degree program. The promotion and selection are handled entirely by AIA. Eligible candidates are required to submit an application to AIA’s national headquarters in Washington, DC, on their standard application form. Submissions are reviewed by jury members of the AIA Practice Management Knowledge Community. Candidates must submit a copy of their transcripts, two letters of recommendation, and an essay on how they would resolve a project management dilemma.  

This year, the award goes to Sabrina Lem.

Sabrina Lem is from Canada and received her undergraduate degree there at York University in Toronto.  She’s currently in her second year of a 3 year Architectural Graduate program at University of Illinois in Chicago.   She didn’t grow up wanting to be an architect, but her passion for travel and observing sustainable designs drove her toward architecture and urban planning. She’s also working on obtaining her Leed’s Certification.

The architecture program at Illinois is the oldest program in the country at a public university, and is consistently ranked among the top 20 programs nationally. It is recognized as one of two programs in the nation best at preparing students for the architecture profession.

Congratulations to Sabrina and as we invest in her future and the future of all of our scholarship winners, we look forward to watching her grow.

Click HERE to learn more about ae ProNet’s scholarship program

Previous Post
What does my firm do when we receive a subpoena?
Next Post
Deductible Options on a Professional Liability Policy